The Complete List of Life Is Strange Games in Chronological & Release Order

Characters from Life Is Strange: True Colors.

The Complete List of Life Is Strange Games in Chronological & Release Order

The Life Is Strange series presents a narrative-forward journey, where players’ choices change the course of the adventure. Originating from Dontnod Entertainment, the series was launched with the first title Life Is Strange, in 2015. The game series is known for its episodic nature following different characters depending on the game. The game’s themes focus on traumatic experiences and emotional subjects. In addition to the creator of the series, Dontnod Entertainment, the game studio Deck Nine has created games for the franchise. Square Enix is the publisher behind all Life Is Strange games.

Beyond the games themselves, the series has also extended its universe into other media forms. A comic series continues the story from one of the original game’s potential conclusions and an in-universe book sheds light on life at the fictional Blackwell Academy. 

[lasso rel="amzn-meta-quest-3-128gb-breakthrough-mixed-reality-powerful-performance-asgards-wrath-2-bundle" id="175390"]

Life Is Strange (2015)

Max and Chloe in Life Is Strange.

©Screenshot from Life is Strange. – Original

As the first game in the series, Life Is Strange brings players into the life of Maxine “Max” Caulfield. She returns to her hometown of Arcadia Bay, Oregon. There, she discovers her power to rewind time. She uses this skill to save her childhood friend Chloe Price from a fatal gunshot. They team up to solve the mystery of Chloe’s missing friend Rachel Amber. The story unfolds through five episodes, engaging players throughout. In each episode, players are able to control the story through their choices.

The game was introduced on various platforms including Xbox One, PlayStation 4, and PC, with later versions for iOS, Android, MacOS, and Linux.

Life Is Strange: Before the Storm (2017)

The school in Life Is Strange: Before the Storm.

©Screenshot from Life is Strange 2. – Original

The second game in the series is Life Is Strange: Before the Storm. The setting for the game takes place three years before the original. It explores Chloe Price’s life as she struggles with her father’s death. Her connection with the popular student Rachel Amber reveals intriguing family secrets. These findings are enough for them to start a search for Rachel’s birth mother.

The game spans three episodes and includes a bonus episode entitled Farewell. This additional content tells a story about Max’s struggle with an upcoming move and the tragic news of Chloe’s father’s death as they were about to search for his hidden treasure. Players can experience the entire saga on various platforms, including Xbox One, PlayStation 4, and Microsoft Windows.

The Awesome Adventures of Captain Spirit (2018)

Chris from The Awesome Adventures of Captain Spirit.

©Screenshot from The Awesome Adventures of Captain Spirit Chris – Original

The 2018 iteration of the series, The Awesome Adventures of Captain Spirit, introduces a completely new character. The game follows the imaginative world of Christopher “Chris” Eriksen. Preparing the house for Christmas, Chris turns mundane chores into thrilling battles against supervillains. His arch-nemesis, Mantroid, is the materialization of his feelings about his mother’s death and his relationship with his alcoholic father.

[lasso rel="amzn-meta-quest-3-128gb-breakthrough-mixed-reality-powerful-performance-asgards-wrath-2-bundle" id="175390"]

The game is a playable demo episode for Life Is Strange 2.  The standalone adventure focuses on exploring childhood trauma and loss. The developers included a twist at the end, which links the game to the actual episodes released with Life Is Strange 2.

Life Is Strange 2 (2018 & 2019)

Sean and Daniel Diaz in Life Is Strange 2.

©Screenshot from Life is Strange 2. – Original

Life Is Strange 2 focuses on brothers Sean and Daniel Diaz. The game presents a dramatic escape after their father’s death and Daniel’s sudden telekinetic powers. Troubles, challenging situations, rewarding friendships, and moral dilemmas fill their journey to Mexico. Sean’s choices affect Daniel’s growth and the game’s conclusion in this exciting new narrative.

The first episode of the game came out in 2018, and the next four episodes followed in 2019. The game is available for platforms including PC, PS4, Xbox One, and Nintendo Switch.

Life Is Strange: True Colors (2021)

Alex Chen in Life Is Strange: True Colors.

©Screenshot from Life is Strange: True Colors. – Original

The 2021 title, Life Is Strange: True Colors, continues the series’ tradition of focusing on exciting narratives. Life Is Strange: True Colors follows Alex Chen, who conceals her psychic power of Empathy. When authorities rule the brother’s death an accident, Alex uses her ability to dig for the truth.

Similarly to previous titles, the game was released for multiple platforms. However, this time around it was made also available for the next-gen consoles, Xbox Series X/S and the PlayStation 5. All five episodes in the game were released at once. An additional Deluxe Edition was also released, which adds the DLC story Wavelengths.

Life Is Strange Remastered Collection (2022)

Chloe and Max in Life is Strange Remastered Collection.
The blue-haired Chloe is familiar from the first Life Is Strange game.

©Screenshot from Life is Strange: Remastered. – Original

Life Is Strange Remastered Collection combines the remastered versions of the original game, Life Is Strange, and Life Is Strange: Before the Storm. The collection improves the visual experience with new character animation upgrades and other enhancements. Players can experience the emotional journeys from the two first titles in the iconic series with improved fidelity.

The collection is available on various platforms, including PlayStation 4, Xbox One, PC, and Nintendo Switch. The game is also playable on the newer generation of consoles thanks to backwards compatibility.

Chronological order

  • Life Is Strange: Before the Storm – takes place in 2010
  • Life Is Strange – takes place in 2014
  • The Awesome Adventures of Captain Spirit – takes place in 2016
  • Life Is Strange 2 – takes place in 2016
  • Life Is Strange: True Colors – takes place in 2019
[lasso rel="amzn-meta-quest-3-128gb-breakthrough-mixed-reality-powerful-performance-asgards-wrath-2-bundle" id="175390"]
To top