The Complete List of Dishonored Games in Chronological & Release Order

Wielding a knife in Dishonored: Death of the Outsider.

The Complete List of Dishonored Games in Chronological & Release Order

The Dishonored is a series of action-adventure games developed by Arkane Studios and published by Bethesda Softworks. The franchise began with the release of Dishonored in 2012, which quickly became one of the leading names in the stealth action genre. The games feature a first-person perspective and an open-level design in missions. In the missions, players assume a role of an assassin with unnatural abilities. Players can upgrade these powers and customize them with runes and charms by collecting them while advancing through the levels. 

Dishonored as a series is a new iteration of the stealth games, made popular early on by the likes of Thief and Metal Gear Solid. While violence is one way to advance in these games, they provide more freedom of choice for players. Often, the quieter option is more efficient than escalating situations. Using weapons is only secondary to sneaking in the shadows and using the characters’ abilities. The games, including Dishonored titles, can be completed without killing a single adversary. 

[lasso rel="amzn-meta-quest-3-128gb-breakthrough-mixed-reality-powerful-performance-asgards-wrath-2-bundle" id="175390"]

The series takes place in the fictional Empire of the Isles, a world that features both technological advancements and magic. This steampunk-like setting brings along an intriguing blend of supernatural spells and high-tech weaponry and gear.

Dishonored (2012)

Dark alley in Dishonored.

©A screenshot for Dishonored – Original

The first game in the series is Dishonored, released in 2012. In the game, players follow the story of Royal Protector Corvo Attano, who is framed for the assassination of Empress Jessamine Kaldwin. Players work with a resistance group trying to restore the former Empress’s daughter, Emily, to the throne. While working with the Loyalists, Attano finds a person called the Outsider, who is willing to grant him supernatural powers.

Arkane Studios developed the game after Harvey Smith, known for his work on Deux Ex, joined the company. Bethesda Softworks published the game for PlayStation 3, Xbox 360, and PC. In 2015, the company released the game for the new generation of game consoles, the PlayStation 4 and the Xbox One.

Additionally, the company also released a few DLCs for the original Dishonored. These include The Knife of Dunwall and The Brigmore Witches, which feature the assassin, Daud, who murdered Empress Kaldwin. The studio released Definitive Edition with all expansion packs in 2015.

[lasso rel="amzn-meta-quest-3-128gb-breakthrough-mixed-reality-powerful-performance-asgards-wrath-2-bundle" id="175390"]

Dishonored 2 (2016)

Sneaking in Dishonored 2.

©A screenshot for Dishonored 2 – Original

Dishonored 2 is the continuation of the story of Corvo Attano. In the game, players can play as a new character, the Empress Emily Kaldwin. As the direct sequel to the original title, the game offers a lot of familiar faces, themes, and gameplay elements. The players can choose to play as Corvo or Emily. Both have unique strengths and weaknesses, incorporating a distinct set of supernatural abilities. 

The game takes place in the city of Karnaca, the capital of Serkonos. Unlike the streets of Dunwall, Karnaca is dangerous and fraught with unrest. Two factions, the Howlers and the Overseer, are at each other throats. The witch Delilah Copperspoon is dethroning Emily Kaldwin. Players must seek ways to retain the throne to its rightful heir. Players need to explore the city and find out what is behind Delilah’s power. The game offers a non-linear pathing, which allows players to engage in various missions.

Bethesda released the game in 2016 for PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and PC. Arkane Studios developed the game, and Harvey Smith returned as the director for the game.

Dishonored: Death of the Outsider (2017)

The city of Karnaca in Dishonored: Death of the Outsider.

©Dishonored: Death of the Outsider screenshot – Original

The third title in the series, Dishonored: Death of the Outsider, is a standalone expansion for Dishonored 2. The game follows-up the narrative in the city of Karnaca. The story of the aftermath of the events in Dishonored 2 follows a former assassin Billie Lurk, voiced by Rosario Dawson. Lurk joins forces with her mentor, Daud, as they plan to assassinate the mysterious figure known as the Outsider. 

Players control Billie Lurk, who is equipped with various weapons, gadgets, and equipment. She can dispatch enemies using her short sword, avoid dangers with a wrist-mounted crossbow, create distractions with grenades and mines, and much more. This third title made some changes to the abilities, as well. Now, all superpowers unlock at the beginning, and developers have removed the chaos system. As in other Dishonored titles, players can complete missions either non-violently using stealth and abilities or through combat.

Arkane Studios developed Dishonored: Death of the Outsider, like its predecessor, and Bethesda released it for PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and PC. The game is the last title, so far, in the series to bear the name.

Deathloop (2021)

Gun in Deathloop.

©A screenshot for Deathloop – Original

As the core Dishonored game is on a hiatus (as expressed by the creators of the series), Arkane Studios and Bethesda have released another type of title in the series. Deathloop is a first-person shooter set in the same universe as the Dishonored titles. The game takes place far in the future from the perspective of the three other titles. As a spin-off, it has similarities with the Dishonored games and references the games.

[lasso rel="amzn-meta-quest-3-128gb-breakthrough-mixed-reality-powerful-performance-asgards-wrath-2-bundle" id="175390"]
To top